| Corner of Locust and Superior Streets | If this this building could talk it would begin its story in 1870 when 41 charter members of Westminster Presbyterian Church commissioned the erection of this massive brick structure at the cost $47,000. Construction was completed in 1873. The building was used as a church until 1909 when it was sold to the St. John's Roman Catholic College and became known as Westminster Hall.
St. John's College was founded by the Jesuits in 1898. It was located at 807 Superior Street or "kitty-corner" from Westminster. Built in 1899 and 1909, it was demolished in 1976. It was a liberal arts college with a business administration program and a law school that later became part of the University of Toledo College of Law.
Before closing the college, the Jesuits had purchased property near what is now Gesu church and school for the relocation of its campus. However, the land was subsequently used in 1955 for the campus of St. Francis de Sales High School, sponsored by the Oblates of St. Francis DeSales. Eventually, the Jesuits opened St. John's High School on Airport Highway in Toledo as a college-prep high school in 1965.